HORROR MOVIES SUCK (short film 2010)

Posted: November 21, 2011 in Film
Tags: , ,

First things first.  If you’re unfamilar with this project of mine, please check out the trailer below.  Context is key.  Maybe not.  But I’m pretending it is.

There’s so many stories I can tell about this project, but right now I’m just gonna focus on how it came to be and what that means to me.  So, without further adieu, here we go!

Roughly around, 3 to 4 years before this project began, I had given up on directing.  I was just tired of chasing people constantly and having these tiny productions fall apart because people couldn’t seem to hold to their commitments.

Cue Melissa Vilardo.

I meet this petite little chick on a short film shoot and we became fast friends.  We had similar work ethics and view points on how film should be handled and enjoyed a lot of the same things.  After she read some of my work, she asked me why I didn’t direct what I wrote.  I told her of some of my trials and tribulations in that area, but she wasn’t having it.  She kept bugging me(or encouraging me – depending on how you wish to look at it)  to direct something I had written.  Almost constantly.

Which is a large contributing factor into my creation of ‘Horror Movies Suck’ as a project for us to tackle.  There’s other stories as to why that came to be, but let’s focus on Tiny Dukes for now.  The very day I pitched it to her, we went into pre-production and never looked back.  It mostly went smooth until we hit the sound mix portion of post production, which grinded things to a slow, horribly crawl that we had to fight our way through.

We finally exited post almost a full year later (May 2011).  We just started submitting this past summer and are in the super early stages of touring this labor of love, concocted and executed by two friends who respect each others craft as well as the individual themselves.

Here’s a list of the festivals so far:

Accolade Competition

Honorable Mention

Online competition.  No screening.

Everybody Dies Horror Film Festival

It was their first year and there wasn’t any categories.  So, let’s pretend we won everything for everything.

Screened on Oct. 21st, 2011

MOCKFEST

Best Comedy Short –  Nominated
Best Editing (Melissa Vilardo) – WIN

Screened on Nov. 18th, 2011

SHOCKFEST

Best Director (JohnMark Triplett) –  Nominated
Best Actor (JohnMark Triplett) – Nominated
Best Shockingly Silly Short – WIN

Screened on Nov. 19th, 2011

So, that’s it so far.   A friend pushed me to return to something I love that I had tried to turn my back on.  And in doing so, it’s becoming one of my most successful projects.  All because of that fucking Vilardo character.

Thanks, Mel, you tiny bitch!

Leave a Reply

